Eastern Shore Literacy Association Names 2019-2020 Officers

The Eastern Shore Literacy Association (ESLA) has named its new officers for the 2019-2020 school year. A community organization with the focus on improving literacy in the lower three counties (Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester), ESLA disseminates best literacy practice to educators and parents, advocates for literacy issues through legislation with educational institutions, and make books available through numerous community outreach opportunities.


Serving as the incoming president is Dr. Andrea Vandiver, who is the Head of the Lower School at The Salisbury School and previously served as an elementary school teacher. Vandiver has served ESLA as vice-presidents and co-chair of the Young Authors’ Contest before elevating to the organization’s top position. She has a passion for children’s books of all levels and is passionate about students developing a lifelong love or reading.



Coming into the role of vice president is Deb Maupin, who is a third grade teacher at The Salisbury School. Maupin is an advocate for early literacy supporting many of ESLA’s outreach opportunities of placing books in the hands of children. At the school level, she supports global literacy initiatives and global competencies related to literacy.




Moving into the role of secretary is Lauren Tanis, a sixth grade language arts teacher at Somerset Intermediate School. Tanis has served as a judge in the annual Young Authors’ Contest. At SIS and her previous school Accawmacke Elementary (VA), she has been involved in many literacy initiatives including One Book, One School.



Continuing in his role of treasurer is Otto Jester, an elementary literacy professional development coach for Wicomico County Public Schools. He has previously served ESLA as the President-Elect, President, and Past President. He is an advocate for early literacy.




Transitioning into the role of membership director and corresponding secretary is Dr. Brian Cook, a sixth grade language arts teacher and department chair at Pocomoke Middle School. He is an integral part of his school’s literacy initiatives and active in supporting diverse literature through ProjectLit. He also serves ESLA as the co-chair of the Young Authors’ Contest.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s