Barbara S. Davis Scholarship

Each year the Eastern Shore Literacy Association honors past president and membership chair Barbara S. Davis with an annual scholarship. Davis, a retired teacher in Wicomico County Public Schools, is remembered for her passion towards sparking the love of reading to all of her students and those in the local communities in which she served. Davis’ scholarship is awarded annually to 3 to 4 seniors who intend on majoring in education in the amount of $1,000.

High school seniors in Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester counties are eligible to apply.

  • A copy of the 2023 Application is coming soon.

2023 Recipient:

  • TBA

Past Recipients:

  • Meredith Taylor: Pocomoke High School – 2022
  • Benjamin Jackson: Snow Hill High – 2020
  • Matthew Wrench: Stephen Decatur High – 2020
  • Gabriel Dennis: Snow Hill High School – 2019
  • Elizabeth Cockey: James M. Bennett High School – 2018
  • Sarah Messico: James M. Bennett High School – 2017
  • Drew Owens: Mardela High School – 2017
  • Zoe Jackson: Snow Hill High School – 2017
  • Bethany Peterson: Parkside High School- 2017
  • Jacqueline Gregory: Salisbury Christian School – 2017
  • Bria Johnson: Mardela High School – 2016
  • Ellen Bargar: Stephen Decatur High School – 2016
  • Emily Zehnter: Stephen Decatur High School – 2016
  • Gabrielle Cuppett: Parkside High School – 2016
  • Leslie White: Washington High School
  • Keleigh Sann: Mardela high School
  • Kaitlyn Briselli: James M. Bennett High School
  • Megan Lowe: Wicomico High School
  • Hayley Dize: Holly Grove Christian School
  • Megan Englishmen: Stephen Decatur High School
  • Adam Gibson: Crisfield High School
  • Spencer Wiersberg: James M. Bennett High School
  • Colleen Bassett: Snow Hill High School
  • Dakota Green, Mardela High School
  • Tiarh Waters, Stephen Decatur High School
  • Anna Davis, Parkside High School
  • Kelly Sullivan, Stephen Decatur High School
  • Kalie Sprankle, Mardela High School
  • Robin Goldman, James M. Bennett High School
  • Amy Jo Jackson, Snow Hill High School
  • Casey Flanagan, James M. Bennett High School
  • Magic Mapp, Parkside High School
  • Anthony Whaley, Stephen Decatur High School
  • Michelle Robinson, Wicomico High School
  • Chris Rodriguez, James M. Bennett High School
  • Melissa Parks, Mardela High School
  • Brooke Carey, Mardela HIgh School
  • Jessica Burton, Wicomico High School
  • Sarah McQueeney, Salisbury Christian School
  • Chelsea Massey, Parkside High School
  • Erin Johnson, Stephen Decatur High School
  • Collins Brown, Stephen Decatur High School
  • Megan Lawton, Stephen Decatur High School
  • Matthew Curtis, Washington High School – 2008
  • Emily Doss, Wicomico High School
  • Brooke Bennett, Mardela High School
  • Jessica Bailey, Parkside High School
  • Danielle King, Pocomoke High School
  • Alexandra Buchanan, Pocomoke High School
  • Emily Adkins, Parkside High School
  • Cassandra Graves, Pocomoke High School – 2004
  • Kelly Parks, Crisfield High School